Tags

,

When I was in college, I went with a Christian group to Cookson Hills. We sang “Amazing Grace” as part of our morning worship. The compelling melody of “Amazing Grace” drew me to Christ. Not long afterwards, I received and professed Christ as my Savior, repented of my sins, was baptized in water in the name of Jesus Christ and, later, received the gift of the Holy Spirit (Acts 2:38 KJV).

Jan Paron/May 14, 2010amazing-grace

The melody of “Amazing Grace” is on black notes. Did you know that all Negro spiritual are written on the black notes of the piano? There are five notes in all, and together they constitute the pentatonic scale. John Newton wrote the words to this song and penned “Amazing Grace.” Newton was a captain of a slave ship. Through the black notes of this melody, I saw Jesus’ light.

The color black can take on a negative tone. Oftentimes, people associate black with darkness or evil. The good guys wear white, the bad wear black. Black may emote sadness. In some cultures, one wears black as a sign of mourning over the passing of a loved one. In another adverse connotation, black sparks hatred. For some people, dark skin provokes prejudice.

AmazingGrace.BlackKeys.5

Why let color negatively influence us? Behind this darkness lurks evil, hatred, violence, depression, or anger that binds and enslaves people to sin. To choose darkness separates us from God. Let Jesus shine in your life. Jesus states in John 8:12 that, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life ” (NLT).

Photo Credit: Amazing Grace, Poems, Prose & Song: Glossophilia and Amazing Grace, Black Keys: keepingthewatch.blogspot.com

rev. 5/31/13