Tags

, , , ,

My daughter Erica sees the Creator’s hand wherever she travels — the shape of a flower, colors in the sky and gentle ripples of a stream. God’s Spirit surrounds her through the works of His hand. She views the world from an artist’s perspective.

Jan Paron/March 5, 2013

Viewing the Word

Recently my daughter and I sat together during service, each intent on taking notes. I like detailed notes. So I set out to capture as much  as I could on my iPhone. I clearly felt frustrated that day. For some reason my fingers felt awkward on the key pad, and I repeatedly hit the wrong letters. By the time I corrected my mistakes, I missed key points and verses. Finally, I stopped taking notes and listened. Take a look at a few lines from my notes below.

. Keep the main thing the main thing

. Don’t let tradition define the church

. Love Jesus and His church

Family.2008.Erica.2Then, I glanced at my daughter drawing her sermon notes. Deep in worship, her face glowed while she captured the sermon. I couldn’t help but feel the Light shining through her. She literally lit up the row. When I looked at her notes I wept at what God’s Spirit revealed. Stay in the arc of God. By opening herself to God, He used her talent as a way to speak to her. While I still enjoy note taking in a different form, her drawing the message opened a new possibility for me.

Erica Sermon.2

(Erica Paron ©2013. Stay in the Arc of God)

Creating New Expressions

People comprehend the Word through multiple expressions. I attend Lighthouse Church of All Nations. Members across generations and ethnicities uniquely teach and preach the Word there through song, drama, illustrated sermons, praise dance, prayer, spoken word and more. Also, pastors from Chicago to Ukraine churches have honored us with the message. We continually look for new ways to reach people with the Gospel. This diverse delivery brings an intentional richness and access for understanding God’s Word to the listeners.

Like Apostle Paul, PerSpectives 12 seeks to reach people with the message through different means as well. We celebrate Erica joining us as our artist-in-residence to illustrate some of our future posts. Watch for Pastor Daryl Cox and Erica Paron team up to bring the message for the Via Dolorosa writing this month.

Though I am free and belong to no one, I have made myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some.  I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings (1 Cor 9:19-23 NIV).

Photo Credits:

Glasses, Presenter Media

Stay in the Arc of God, Erica Paron,