Tags

, , ,

Juanita Lockett/March 23, 2013

Keep Me at the Foot of the Cross Framed.2

Keep Me at the Foot of the Cross

(Juanita Clark Lockett, © 2000)

barred

I remember the moment as if it were today. I was sweeping my kitchen meditating on God, His goodness, my love for Him, and expressing how it was the desire of my heart to be pure and holy before Him. While in that frame of mind, I began to sing a song to the Lord.

Keep me at the foot of the Cross

Safe in the place where my Savior died

For a world that was hopelessly lost

Keep me at the foot of the Cross

I quickly realized that a song from God has just been birthed. So, I grabbed my pen and began to write.

Down at the Cross where my Savior died

For all of my sins He was crucified

So, I’ll stay by the old rugged tree

Where mercy and forgiveness flows for you and me

barred

For God so loved the world that He become the one

Who would lay down His life so that every man could come

To a place that’s called Mt. Calvary

Where the price has been paid and the sacrifice made

So that we could all be free

barred

No place else I’d rather be than to sit at the feet of the one who loves me

Let that crimson river flow over my heart and soul

Keep me at the foot of the Cross

Cross.Plain.Red

You see, safety is at the foot of the Cross. Mercy is at the foot of the Cross. Forgiveness is at the foot of the Cross. Purpose can be found at the foot of the Cross. Healing is at the foot of the Cross. Life is distributed at the foot of the Cross. Freedom is at the foot of the Cross. Salvation is at the foot of the Cross. At the foot of the Cross, the things of this world seem to be so unimportant and insignificant. The reality of the matter is this, at the foot of the Cross we are “…looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him, endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of God” (Heb 12:2 NKJV).

I remember a story told by our senior pastor at Lighthouse Church of All Nations, Pastor Dan Willis, during a message he recently preached about an artist that painted a picture of Jesus hanging on the cross. There was a hidden message in this picture which could not be discovered unless one was lying prostrate on the floor. In this position, the viewer was able to look up and see the eyes of Jesus looking at them. To be able to lie at the feet of the Cross, we must humble ourselves before the mighty hand of God. No flesh can glory in His presence at the knowledge of the price He paid for us: He died that we may live! Ephesians 2:8-9 says, “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.”

At the foot of the Cross, love flows continually. This is the habitation where a relationship with Jesus Christ is established because Phil 3:10 says, “That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his suffering…” The characteristics of Christ never will be discovered unless we humble ourselves at the foot of the Cross: humility, forgiveness, trust, servant leadership, and living an overcoming life through Jesus Christ! It is at the foot of the Cross where we discover whom we are and who He IS!

The message of the Cross has the enduring power to keep us in the will of God. It’s at this safe haven where we can find peace and refuge. There are many who will never understand the power of the Cross. But, I beseech you today not to be afraid. Come, kneel at the foot of the Cross because there is room at the Cross for you.

barred

Juanita Lockett, guest contributor, teaches practical theology at All Nations Leadership Institute (ANLI). She also serves as assistant pastor for the All Nations Choir (ANC) at Lighthouse Church of All Nations. ANC is the largest multicultural choir in the Chicago metro area.